Film Independent Honors 2024 Spirit Awards Winners at 39th Annual Ceremony

Past Lives, The Holdovers and Beef Lead the Way in an Unpredictable and Varied Celebration of the Best of Independent Storytelling
Now Reading:  
Film Independent Honors 2024 Spirit Awards Winners at 39th Annual Ceremony

This year's host of the 39th Film Independent Spirit Awards, Aidy Bryant at the Santa Monica Pier honored the finest in independent film and television. There was strong competition among the six performance categories, after gender-neutral acting categories were added last year.

On Sunday, February 25, the ceremony was aired live on X (formerly known as Twitter) and the YouTube account of Film Independent. The biggest winners of the evening were Past Lives, The Holdovers, and Beef. The Holdovers won three prizes, while Past Lives and Beef each won two. 

Here is the list of all of the winners.

Best Feature

Past Lives (A24)

Producers: David Hinojosa, Pamela Koffler, Christine Vachon

Best Director

Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)

Best Screenplay

Cord Jefferson, American Fiction (Orion Pictures / Amazon MGM Studios)

Best First Feature

A Thousand and One (Focus Features)

Director: A.V. Rockwell

Producers: Julia Lebedev, Rishi Rajani, Eddie Vaisman, Lena Waithe, Brad Weston

Best First Screenplay

Samy Burch, Story by Samy Burch, Alex Mechanik, May December (Netflix)

John Cassavetes Award

(for best feature made under $1,000,000)

Fremont (Music Box Films)

Writer/Director: Babak Jalal

Writer: Carolina Cavalli

Producers: Rachael Fung, Chris Martin, Marjaneh Moghimi, George Rush, Sudnya Shroff, Laura Wagner

Best Breakthrough Performance

Dominic Sessa, The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Best Supporting Performance

Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Best Lead Performance

Jeffrey Wright, American Fiction (Orion Pictures / Amazon MGM Studios)

Robert Altman Award

Showing Up (A24)

Director: Kelly Reichardt

Casting Director: Gayle Keller

Ensemble Cast: André Benjamin, Hong Chau, Judd Hirsch, Heather Lawless, James Le Gros, John Magaro, Matt Malloy, Amanda Plummer, Maryann Plunkett, Denzel Rodriguez, Michelle Williams

Best Cinematography

Eigil Bryld, The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Best Editing

Daniel Garber, How to Blow Up a Pipeline (NEON)

Best International Film

Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)

Director: Justine Triet

Best Documentary

Four Daughters (Kino Lorber)

Director: Kaouther Ben Hania

Producer: Nadim Cheikhrouha

Someone to Watch

Monica Sorelle, Mountains

Truer Than Fiction

Set Hernandez, unseen (POV, American Documentary)

Producers Award

Monique Walton


Best New Scripted Series

Beef (Netflix)

Creator/Executive Producer: Lee Sung Jin

Executive Producers: Steven Yeun, Ali Wong, Jake Schreier, Ravi Nandan, Alli Reich

Co-Executive Producers: Alice Ju, Carrie Kemper

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

Dear Mama (FX)

Executive Producers: Lasse Järvi, Quincy 'QD3' Jones III, Staci Robinson, Nelson George, Charles D. King, Peter Nelson, Adel 'Future' Nur, Jamal Joseph, Ted Skillman, Allen Hughes, Steve Berman, Marc Cimino, Jody Gerson, John Janick, Nicholas Ferrall, Nigel Sinclair

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series

Nick Offerman, The Last of Us (HBO/Max)

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Ali Wong, Beef (Netflix)

Best Breakthrough Performance in a New Scripted Series

Keivonn Montreal Woodard, The Last of Us (HBO/Max)

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

Jury Duty (Amazon Freevee)

Ensemble Cast: Alan Barinholtz, Susan Berger, Cassandra Blair, David Brown, Kirk Fox, Ross Kimball, Pramode Kumar, Trisha LaFache, Mekki Leeper, James Marsden, Edy Modica, Kerry O'Neill, Rashida Olayiwola, Whitney Rice, Maria Russell, Ishmel Sahid, Ben Seaward, Ron Song, Evan Williams

Read about the nominees here.

Images courtesy of Getty Images and Film Independent